top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarlos Astorga

IMPACT Wrestling Hall of Fame Returns!

Photo Credit Impact Wrestling

Impact Wrestling has officially announced that for the first time in two years, another legendary name will be given the honor of an induction into the Impact Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Originally known as the “TNA Hall of Fame”, the promotion began inducting names starting with “The Icon” Sting at the very first ceremony in 2012. This began an annual tradition during Bound for Glory weekend, with Kurt Angle, Team 3D, Jeff Jarrett, referee Earl Hebner and most recently Gail Kim, prior to her retirement.

Many had assumed following the ceremony’s absence in 2017 that the Hall of Fame was dead, especially given all the major changes and uncertainties surrounding the company in recent years. But then, this has been the most stable year Impact has had in nearly a decade, under the new management of Ed Nordholm, Scott D’Amore and Don Callis.

One of the major criticisms surrounding the Impact HOF for years now has been the decision to induct more popular legends like Angle and Sting – however legendary they may be – before the wrestlers like AJ Styles and Samoa Joe, whose careers were actually made in TNA and who pioneered the styles that made the promotion stand out. That said, it will be interesting to see who goes in this year, as many of the top stars from days gone are currently employed by either WWE or Ring of Honor.


bottom of page