top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarlos Astorga

Minoru Suzuki Match Added To NJPW Windy City Riot

The full lineup is now set for NJPW Windy City Riot in Chicago.

NJPW comes to Chicago's Wintrust Arena for Windy City Riot this Friday night. The final addition to the card is a singles match between Minoru Suzuki and Ren Narita. It will be the first time Suzuki has wrestled for NJPW in 2024.

Suzuki was previously a mentor to Narita, but Narita has turned against him and joined House of Torture.

NJPW wrote:

It’s been a chilly mid-spring in Chicago, but main card action will bring the heat from the jump when Minoru Suzuki goes one on one with Ren Narita. At New Year Dash 2023, Suzuki took a then recently returned from excursion Narita under his wing, promising that he could teach him the true essences of Strong Style that he sought to embody. Yet in the wake of a weak G1 Climax debut and a Best of Seven six man series that ended in a tie, Ren Narita secretly conspired to turn his back on Hontai and join with HOUSE OF TORTURE.

Ever since, Narita has proudly proclaimed that HOUSE OF TORTURE is the true embodiment of Strong Style, but has not had to meet directly with the consequences of his betrayal of Suzuki.

Windy City Riot is airing as a live pay-per-view on NJPW World. It's priced at $19.99 and will begin at 8 p.m. Eastern time on Friday.

NJPW Windy City Riot 2024 (April 12) --

  • IWGP World Heavyweight Champion Tetsuya Naito defends against Jon Moxley

  • Nic Nemeth vs. Tomohiro Ishii

  • NJPW World Television Champion Matt Riddle defends against Zack Sabre Jr.

  • Riot Rules tornado tag: Eddie Kingston and three partners to be determined vs. Gabe Kidd and three partners to be determined

  • Hiromu Takahashi vs. Mustafa Ali

  • Jack Perry vs. Shota Umino

  • Four-way match: NJPW Strong Tag Team Champions Hikuleo & El Phantasmo defend against Shane Haste & Mikey Nicholls, Tom Lawlor & Fred Rosser, and Royce Isaacs & Jorel Nelson

  • NJPW Strong Women's Champion Stephanie Vaquer defends against AZM

  • Minoru Suzuki vs. Ren Narita

  • Mina Shirakawa & Viva Van vs. Trish Adora & Alex Windsor (pre-show)

  • Matt Vandagriff vs. Zane Jay (pre-show)


bottom of page