top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarlos Astorga


Photo Credit NWA

CONCORD, N.C. -- PCO and Brody King added to their hardware collection at the Crockett Cup on April 27, leaving the Cabarrus Arena with both the Crockett Cup trophy and the NWA Tag Team championship belts.

PCO and King, two-thirds of the reigning ROH World Six-Man Tag Team Champions, defeated the team of Royce Isaacs and Thomas Latimer in the finals of the Crockett Cup tag team tournament.

It had been announced earlier in the night that the winners of the tournament would also be crowned NWA Tag Team Champions. The titles, which have been worn by such legendary teams as The Road Warriors, The Midnight Express, The Rock ‘n’ Roll Express and Arn Anderson and Tully Blanchard, had been vacant since 2017.

PCO and King joined The Road Warriors (1986), Dusty Rhodes and Nikita Koloff  (1987) and Barry Windham and Lex Luger (1988) as winners of the Crockett Cup tournament.

The Crockett Cup event was co-promoted by the NWA and ROH and was streamed live for HonorClub. The replay is available on demand for HonorClub members.

PCO and King defeated Japanese legends Satoshi Kojima and Yuji Nagata in the first round to advance to the semifinals against Jay and Mark Briscoe, who had beaten sentimental favorites The Rock ‘n’ Roll Express.

PCO and King, who defeated the Briscoes for the ROH World Tag Team Titles at ROH’s 17th Anniversary Show in March, won the semifinal match by disqualification after Jay Briscoe used a chair.

The Briscoes were furious with the decision, attacking the referee and PCO and King afterward. They put a chair around PCO’s arm and several chairs on top of it, and then Mark Briscoe hit a senton off the top rope.

Despite PCO going into the finals with a badly injured arm, he and King still managed to win  thanks to PCO’s inhuman recuperative powers. PCO, who has yet to be pinned or forced to submit in ROH, will have an opportunity to become a triple champion when he faces ROH World Champion Matt Taven at War of the Worlds in Toronto on May 9.

Villain Enterprises nearly won even more gold at the Crockett Cup, as “The Villain” Marty Scurll pushed NWA Worlds Champion Nick Aldis to the limit before Aldis ultimately prevailed in a classic encounter.

In the other championship matches on the show: Colt Cabana won the NWA National Title from Willie Mack, ending Mack’s reign at 188 days; and Allysin Kay defeated Santana Garrett to win the vacant NWA Women’s Title.


bottom of page